Canucks defenseman Quinn Hughes wins Norris Trophy

Quinn Hughes has just accomplished something else that no other Vancouver Canucks defenseman has ever done.

Hughes was named the Norris Trophy winner for the 2023-24 season. The announcement was made Thursday night at the NHL Awards show in Las Vegas.

Awarded every season since 1954 to the “defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position,” Hughes is the first Canucks defender in the 54-year history of the franchise to receive the award.

Hughes, 24, led all NHL defenders in even-strength points and total points during the 2023-24 regular season. Hughes also scored 17 goals — besting his previous career high of eight goals in a season — finishing sixth in goals scored among all NHL blueliners.

Beyond the popcorn statistics, Hughes played top-pair minutes for a surprising, upstart Canucks team this past season. And his impact and overall game went to another level.

In his first year wearing the captain’s “C,” Vancouver outscored their opponents by 37 goals with Hughes on the ice at five-on-five as Hughes emerged as the most important engine for a team that won 50 games and finished first in the Pacific Division during the regular season.

Nashville Predators captain Roman Josi, who won the award in 2020, was the runner-up in Norris Trophy balloting. Colorado Avalanche defenseman Cale Makar, who won the award in 2022, finished third.

Required reading

(Photo: Codie McLachlan / Getty Images)

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top